Daily Archives: December 2, 2019

2019 Door Two: Acrostuck

Acrostuck

Another day, the year begins preparing for conclusion.
December picks its coat up and slowly gets a move on.
Vanishing through the hourglass, time’s sands descend like snow,
Everyone wonders where the months and weeks and days all go.
No pause for standing still, to reflect or mull or chew;
Time is running out, my friends, so this will have to do.


So… I’ve remembered why I haven’t done this for nearly five years. Writing a poem a day is a lovely idea, but when you’re doing other things it’s hard to find the time, even if those other things only involve eating a Wetherspoons American Breakfast, being driven home from Minehead, and a Labour meeting. This Advent Calendar lark takes time, which – evidently – I’m not yet devoting to it.

I’m aware today’s Door is already letting the side down, but it is at least meta. And you can go far being meta. Well, you can, I probably can’t.

It’s an acrostic though, which I don’t think I’ve ever written on this blog. And given that I’ve loved them since literacy lessons in Year 2 with Mrs Kelly, it’s probably about time, right?

I mean, it’s literally about time.

Bwaaaaaaam. Twenty-three days to go.

Owen x

 

PS Thanks to Marco Verch for today’s photo (I ran out of time to take one…)