Daily Archives: December 12, 2023

2023 Door Twelve: My eyes are cold (by MJ Ayris)

We’re at the halfway point of this year’s Poetry Advent Calendar, so it’s time to bring some friends on board to enliven proceedings with their own beautiful verse. I’m thinking of it a bit like in a charity football match, Soccer Aid or something, where after 45 minutes of watching Lee Mack wheeze his way around Old Trafford, the teams come out after half-time and whoever’s managing (probably Harry Redknapp or someone) has given a cameo to Steven Gerrard or Jermain Defoe, someone actually good at football, to knock in a hat-trick and get us over the line. That’s my analogy for the guest poets that make this Calendar shine; I’m the asthmatic ex-comedian being nutmegged by Xabi Alonso, if you hadn’t worked that out.

Anyway, enough of me. I’m pleased to give to you now the beautiful Advent verse of the wonderful MJ Ayris…



Magnificent, heartstring-yanking words from MJ. She’s one of the best spoken word performers that you’ve not heard of yet, and I’m so pleased to be able to host her on here. I asked her to write me something after a WhatsApp conversation about poetry open mics yesterday, so I’m doubly-confident in saying that 2024 is going to be a massive year for this massive talent. Here’s what MJ herself has to say on today’s Door:

The header image cropped this off, which I feel is doing a disservice to those in it. So here it is again!

I first MJ as a friend of Luci’s eldest son and his girlfriend God-knows-when – sometime around the end of the last decade – and it quickly became apparent she was a fine poetry slammer. We ended up on the same bill in a barn in the back of a smokehouse in Witney and swore to do a bit more of that sort of thing, and then Covid-19 hit, and we never really did.

Until May! When, as part of Witney Music Festival, I organised the town’s first-ever dedicated poetry and spoken word night, at Drummer’s Bar (or the Crafty Pint as it is now), featuring the brilliant local poets Simon Chambers, Khadj Rouf, Steve Larkin and MJ. It was a perfect night, with a perfect line-up of poets and a perfect, attentive audience – the night I’d dreamt of organising in my hometown for over a decade. MJ, naturally, brought the house down and blew the roof off. And demolished the conservatory, but actually I think that was more a retrospective Planning decision.

As I say, this girl is going places. I’m delighted she agreed to take part today, and chuffed to bits that she wrote this lovely piece as a result.

Here’s to you, MJ. Thirteen days to go…

Owen x